In order to do social and economic justice to the poor and talented rural children, Government of Combined Andhra Pradesh established A.P. Residential Educational Institutions Society in the year 1972 as an autonomous body with the Secretary to Government,Education Department as Chairman.Later through G.O.Ms.No.363, Education (SSE.I) Department, dated 12.09.1988, the Minister in charge of Education,Andhra Pradesh is designated as the Chairman and the Secretary to Government, Education Department designated as the Vice-Chairman.The management of the Society is vested with the Board of Governors consisting of 22 members.


The first Residential School started by the Government of Combined Andhra Pradesh at Sarvail in Nalgonda District to cater the needs of Telangana pupils during 1971-72 in the buildings and land donated by Sarvodaya Trust Board. To facilitate the maintenance of Residential Schools free from the normal restraints in Government Department, the Government have constituted A.P. Residential Schools Society (Regd.), Hyderabad during April, 1972 and permitted the opening of 2 more Residential Schools in the other two Regions in the State at Tadikonda in Guntur district and Kodigenahalli in Anantapur. Later the Government have decided to extend the scheme to Intermediate level and permitted the opening of a Residential Junior College at Nagarjunasagar in 1975. At present the Society is managing 123 schools, 13 Junior Colleges and 1 Degree College, 220 KGBVs as shown below.


  1. To establish, maintain control and manage Residential Schools and Colleges for the talented and meritorious children belonging to Scheduled Cases and others/residing within the State of Telangana and to do all acts and things necessary for or conducive to promotion of such schools and colleges.
  2. To affiliate and accord recognition to similar Residential Schools and Colleges established and run by any Society and private persons in the State.
  3. To prepare, introduce, supervise and modify from time to time the curriculum, syllabi and other programmes and conduct of examinations for the pupils in the Residential Schools and Colleges established by or affiliated to or recognized by the Society.
  4. To organise and conduct study courses, conferences, lectures, seminars, workshops, study tours and the like for the benefit of the staff and students of the Residential Schools and Colleges.

As on date, there are 300 TGREIS Institutions functioning under the control of TGREIS Society. The following are the category-wise institutions functioning under the Society’s administrative control.

Department Links

© Copyright TREIS. All Rights Reserved.Designed & Developed by Centre for Good Governance